2014-2017 , Al steps fourth year in power

January 12,a1news24: It is with some bouquets and a few brickbats that the Awami League government has passed three years of its second straight term in office.

The Awami League-led government under the leadership of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina steps into its fourth year in office today (Thursday).

The party held on to power following the general elections to the 10th Parliament held in 2014.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will address the nation today evening on completion of third year of the second consecutive tenure of her government.

On Thursday, the prime minister is scheduled to address the nation to mark the completion of three years in power.

In the televised address, she is expected to concentrate on the developmental milestones achieved by her government.

On this day in 2014, the Awami League that led the nation’s War of Independence in 1971 under the leadership of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, formed the government for the second consecutive.

The party made the campaign pledge of putting Bangladesh on the development highway in the election boycotted by the BNP and its allies.

Past its midterm, the Awami League has had a chequered tenure so far.
Although the beginning of its tenure was marred by violence, the party looks unburdened halfway through.

A1news/Politics/Jan 12/Babul Talukdar/Maruf